American Winners at Cannes

This article is from the archive of The New York Sun before the launch of its new website in 2022. The Sun has neither altered nor updated such articles but will seek to correct any errors, mis-categorizations or other problems introduced during transfer.

The New York Sun

The Cannes Film Festival is a gathering of the international film elite, and Americans have been strongly represented over the years. Eleven American film directors have won a Palme d’Or, the award given to the director of the Best Feature Film in the competition. Director Delbert Mann was the first ever to receive the award, which was established in 1955. From 1964 to 1974, the Palme d’Or was not awarded. The award came back into the picture 1975 and has since become the symbol of the festival.

American directors and their award winning films:

1955 “Marty” by Delbert Mann
1957 “Friendly Persuasion” by William Wyler
1976 “Taxi Driver” by Martin Scorcese
1979 “Apocalypse Now” (a work in progress) by Francis Coppola
1980 “All That Jazz” by Bob Fosse
1989 “Sex, Lies & Videotape” by Steven Soderbergh
1990 “Wild At Heart” by David Lynch
1991 “Barton Fink” by Ethan Coen and Joel Coen
1994 “Pulp Fiction” by Quentin Tarantino
2003 “Elephant” by Gus Van Sant
2004 “Fahrenheit 9/11” by Michael Moore

The New York Sun

© 2023 The New York Sun Company, LLC. All rights reserved.

Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. The material on this site is protected by copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used.

The New York Sun

Sign in or  Create a free account

By continuing you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use